Our Board

We currently have ten Board Members and these are:


John Layton (Chair)

John is a chartered accountant and a former director of PriceWaterhouseCoopers who helped set up Local Space and was our first chair. He became our chair again in September 2012.

Richard Reynolds (Chair Elect)

Richard Reynolds is Chair Elect of Local Space and also Chair of Meridian Home Start and Weald Property Developments and also a Non Executive Director of Breyer Group Plc and a Patron of Discover (The Children’s Discovery Centre in Stratford). Previously Richard chaired Redrow Homes London, Orbit Homes 2020, Aldwyck Housing Group and was Vice Chair of a London NHS Hospital Trust. He was also a Non Executive Director at Pinnacle PSG, Guinness Developments Ltd, Guinness Homes Ltd, Thurrock Thames Gateway Development Corporation and CityWest Homes Ltd (The City of Westminster’s ALMO). 

Before he retired in 2006 Richard was responsible – for nearly 25 years – as Managing Director for all Barratt activity in the East Thames Corridor from and including London to the Kent and Essex coasts.

Sarah Ebanja (Vice Chair)

Sarah is chair of Newlon Homes. She’s been deputy chief executive of the London Development Authority and Islington Council, and chair at the Stephen Lawrence Charitable Trust. She chairs the audit committee.

Elaine Bowes

Elaine is a specialist in equality, diversity and inclusion. She has worked mainly in public sector roles and has a strong track record of bringing in improvements in these areas. Elaine chairs the equality and diversity and remuneration committee.

Janet Marsh

Janet has been a resident of Local Space since 2006 and was chair of our tenants' association for three years.  Her work has included our maintenance and scrutiny committees.


Cllr Tahmina Rahman

Tahmina is a creative professional who has lived in Newham all her life with experience working in the arts and media communications for a number of years along with private and third sectors.  She was a Games Maker in London 2012 Olympic & Paralympic Games as a Technology and Media Team Member.  She is currently the Executive Member of New Media and Advisor to the Mayor of Newham; also works at the Photographers' Gallery within the Visitor's Relation and Digital Audience Research team.  Tahmina also sits on a number of committees including the Newham Pension Fund, Investments & Accounts and Local Planning Development committee.

Douglas Trainer

Douglas is the Assistant Chief Executive of Corporate Services at Newham Council.  He has previously held a number of senior roles in government, the private and voluntary sectors.

Caitlin Farrow

Caitlin is a policy and research professional and is currently the Head of Strategy, Planning, Policy and Insight at Peabody.  She is also a trustee of Health Improvement Project Zanzibar.

Clive Turner

Clive has held a number of senior roles in local authorities, housing associations and government agencies in London and the South West. He has recently retired as Chief Executive of a large housing association.